LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

AMERICAN PANDA
by Gloria Chao

AMERICAN PANDA by Gloria Chao

* AMERICAN PANDA won The Book Doctor’s 2015 Pitchapalooza! You can read her original winning pitch here: https://novelpitch.com/testimonials/what-it-is-really-like-to-win-pitchapalooza-by-gloria-chao/sample-pitch-american-panda-by-gloria-chao/

* Read about Gloria’s experience winning here: https://thebookdoctors.com/winning-pitchapalooza-by-gloria-chao/

Tagline: An incisive, laugh-out-loud contemporary debut about a Taiwanese-American teen whose parents want her to be a doctor and marry a Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer despite her germophobia and crush on a Japanese classmate.

About AMERICAN PANDA: At seventeen, Mei should be in high school, but skipping fourth grade was part of her parents' master plan. Now a freshman at MIT, she is on track to fulfill the rest of this predetermined future: become a doctor, marry a preapproved Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer, produce a litter of babies. With everything her parents have sacrificed to make her cushy life a reality, Mei can't bring herself to tell them the truth—that she (1) hates germs, (2) falls asleep in biology lectures, and (3) has a crush on her classmate Darren Takahashi, who is decidedly not Taiwanese. But when Mei reconnects with her brother, Xing, who is estranged from the family for dating the wrong woman, Mei starts to wonder if all the secrets are truly worth it. Can she find a way to be herself, whoever that is, before her web of lies unravels? From debut author Gloria Chao comes a hilarious, heartfelt tale of how unlike the panda, life isn't always so black and white.

About the author: Gloria Chao is a young adult author writing full-time in Chicago. American Panda is her debut novel, inspired by her experiences as a second-generation Taiwanese-American. This book will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han, and Sara Farizan! Gloria has a bachelor’s degree from MIT and a DMD from Tufts. She is an active member of SCBWI and WFWA. https://gloriachao.wordpress.com/