LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

THE FOURTH FRIEND
by Joy Ellis

THE FOURTH FRIEND by Joy Ellis

Looking for your next unputdownable mystery? Then try this book by #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

FOUR LOST FRIENDS. FOUR TASKS TO COMPLETE. ONE BIG MYSTERY LEFT.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. So for each of his four friends he decides to complete something that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

DI Jackman and DS Evans of the Fenland police face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the shocking ending.

What readers are saying about THE FOURTH FRIEND

“I really couldn’t put this one down, it is a real page turner and I didn’t guess the end. Could be the best Joy Ellis book yet.” Barbara

“Loved this book.” Elaine

“Well written with twists and turns that allow you to think you have solved it ... believe me you won't see the ending until the last pages.” Clare

“The story kept me gripped from the beginning and I certainly didn't foresee that ending.” Nerys

“Another amazing read by the brilliant author Joy Ellis.” Grea Halliday

“The tension started immediately as the reader wonders what will become of Carter McLean and continues throughout the book.” Joyce Fox

THE DETECTIVES

DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE MURDERER’S SON

BOOK 1 (JACKMAN & EVANS SERIES)

• UK #6

• 70,000 copies sold

RIGHTS: World English: Joffe Books

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons and Colin Dexter.

A BLOODY KILLER SEEMS TO HAVE RETURNED TO THE LINCOLNSHIRE FENS

Twenty years ago: a farmer and his wife are cut to pieces by a ruthless serial killer.

Now: a woman is viciously stabbed to death in the upmarket kitchen of her beautiful house on the edge of the marshes. A man called Daniel Kinder walks into Saltern police station and confesses to the murder. But DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans of the Fenland Constabulary soon discover that there is a lot more to Daniel than meets the eye. He has no memory of the first five years of his life and is obsessed with who his real mother is.

Genre: Crime thriller/mystery

Published September 2016

Paperback: 333 pages

THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS

BOOK 2 (JACKMAN & EVANS SERIES)

• UK #1

• USA #3

• 135,000 copies sold

RIGHTS: World English: Joffe Books

TWO GIRLS GO TO A PARTY, ONLY ONE RETURNS ALIVE

Toni, the surviving teenager, is found deliriously wandering the muddy fields of the fens. She has been drugged and it’s uncertain whether she’ll survive. She says she saw her friend Emily being dragged away from the party. But no one knows who Emily is or even if she’s still alive . . .

Meanwhile the drowned body of another girl has been found on an isolated beach.And how does this all relate to the shocking disappearance of a little girl nearly a decade ago, a crime which was never solved? The girl’s mother is putting immense pressure on the police to re-open the high-profile case.

FOUR GIRLS. FOUR DAUGHTERS. FOUR FAMILIES WHO NEED JUSTICE AND CLOSURE.

Genre: Crime thriller/mystery

Published March 2017

Paperback: 331 pages