LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

by Forgotten Female Authors 1850-1917, edited
by Leslie S. Klinger

IN THE SHADOW OF AGATHA CHRISTIE: Classic Crime Fiction by Forgotten Female Authors 1850-1917, edited by Leslie S. Klinger

Before Agatha Christie became the world’s Queen of Crime, she stood on the talented shoulders of the female crime authors who came before her. This splendid new anthology by Leslie S. Klinger brings these exceptional writers out of Christie’s shadow and back into the spotlight they deserve.

Praise for Klinger’s Echoes of Sherlock Holmes:

“A most enjoyable and intriguing book.”- The Washington Times

“You owe it to yourself to read this collection. The reader is sure to be amazed, delighted, and entertained from one end of the book to the other. ”- The Oklahoman

“A winner for fans of classic mysteries and a complete joy.”- Bookreporter

Agatha Christie is undoubtedly the world’s best-selling mystery author, hailed as the “Queen of Crime,” with worldwide sales in the billions. Christie burst onto the literary scene in 1920, with The Mysterious Affair at Styles; her last novel was published in 1976, a career longer than even Conan Doyle’s forty-year span.

The truth is that it was due to the success of writers like Anna Katherine Green in America; L. T. Meade, C. L. Pirkis, the Baroness Orczy, and Elizabeth Corbett in England; and Mary Fortune in Australia that the doors were finally opened for women crime-writers. Authors who followed them, such as Patricia Wentworth, Dorothy Sayers, and, of course, Agatha Christie would not have thrived without the bold, fearless work of their predecessors―and the genre would be much poorer for their absence. So while Agatha Christie may still reign supreme, it is important to remember that she did not ascend that throne except on the shoulders of the women who came before her―and inspired her―and who are now removed from her shadow once and for all by this superb new anthology by Leslie S. Klinger.

Table of Contents:

“The Advocate’s Wedding Day” by Catherine Crowe

“The Squire’s Story” by Elizabeth Gaskell

“Traces of Crime” by Mary Fortune

“Mr. Furbush” by Harriet Prescott Spofford

“Mrs. Todhetley’s Earrings” by Ellen Wood

“Catching a Burglar” by Elizabeth Corbett

“The Ghost of Fountain Lane” by C. L. Pirkis

“The Statement of Jared Johnson” by Geraldine Bonner

“A Point in Morals” by Ellen Glasgow

“The Blood-Red Cross” by L. T. Meade and Robert Eustace

“The Regent’s Park Murder” by Baroness Orczy

“The Case of the Registered Letter” by Augusta Groner

“The Winning Sequence” by M. E. Braddon

“Missing: Page Thirteen” by Anna Katherine Green

“The Adventure of the Clothes-line” by Carolyn Wells

“A Jury of Her Peers” by Susan Glaspell

Leslie S. Klinger is one of the world’s foremost authorities on Sherlock Holmes. He is the editor of the three-volume set The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes. The first two volumes, The Complete Short Stories, won the Edgar for “Best Critical/Biographical” work. He is also the editor of The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft. For Pegasus he has The Echoes of Sherlock Homes and In the Shadow of Edgar Allan Poe. Klinger is (of course) a member of the Baker Street Irregulars.