LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

by Nicholas Mainieri

THE INFINITE by Nicholas Mainieri

A striking debut novel which will be Harper Perennial’s LEAD trade paperback title this September. The book will be backed by a national print/radio/online promotional and marketing campaign, print and online advertising, social media/newsletter/academic/reading group and blog outreach and an author tour. Please see the great advance praise and description below.

“Nick Mainieri is the real deal, and THE INFINITE is stunning. A compelling, brilliantly-told debut, written with power and clarity.”—Philipp Meyer, New York Times Bestselling author of THE SON

“THE INFINITE is that rare, beautiful first novel, so contemporary and yet as timeless as first love itself. And Nick Mainieri does what great novelists do with their first great works. He createsunforgettable characters in young lovers Jonah and Luz who, bothtogether and alone, navigate the rushing river of the borderlands that mark our two Americas. THE INFINITE is a heart song, and Nicholas Mainieri is one of our next great storytellers.”—Joseph Boyden, author of THE ORENDA and THREE DAY ROAD

“The title of Nick Mainieri’s wonderful debut novel is perfectly apt. THE INFINITE takes thereader on a heart-pounding, heart-rending adventure through the infinite complexities of being alive in the world today. Part City of Refuge, part Breaking Bad, this novel takes you by the hand and won’t let go. I couldn’t put it down, and I can’t stop thinking about it since finishing. Thewriting is smart, beautiful, and unafraid to ask the big questions. This is fiction that stays with you and heralds the beginning of a wonderful career.”—Andrew Malan Milward, author of I WAS A REVOLUTIONARY

A breathtaking portrait of post-Katrina New Orleans and a riveting descent into Mexico’s drug war, THE INFINITE is an utterly unique debut about the borders that divide us – and the truths that unite us.

Jonah McBee has deep roots in New Orleans, but with hardly any family left, he is half-heartedly planning to enlist in the army after high school. Luz Hidalgo, an undocumented Latina and budding track star, followed her father there after Hurricane Katrina. Both Jonah and Luz have known loss. Both are struggling to imagine a new future. And when they fall in love, it is intense, addictive, and real.

But everything changes when Luz discovers that she’s pregnant. In a moment of panic, her father sends Luz back to Mexico so her grandmother can help raise the baby. Devastated, Jonah decides to take a road trip after her with his best friend when he doesn’t hear from her.

Little does Jonah know, Luz is fighting for her life. Her trip has been cut short by a shocking act of violence, thrusting her into the endless cycle of bloodshed perpetrated by the cartels. So Luz does what she does best: she runs. And she goes farther and deeper than she ever imagined.

For fans of Richard Ford, Barbara Kingsolver and Louise Erdrich, this is a suspenseful, tender, and powerful debut.

About the Author:


Nicholas Mainieri’s short fiction and essays have appeared in the Southern Review, Hobart, Sou’wester, Salamander, and The Southern Humanities Review, among other literary journals. His short piece, “Landscapes,” was nominated for a Pushcart Prize, and he holds an MFA from the University of New Orleans.

Nicholas currently teaches writing and literature at Nicholls St. University and is an editor for the online literary journal, Gris-Gris. He received a Bachelor in Arts in English from the University of Notre Dame, where he also played for the university’s baseball team, before earning his MFA from the University of New Orleans. Though he grew up in Florida, Colorado, and Indiana, he now calls New Orleans home with his wife and son. THE INFINITE is his first novel.