LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

by Paula Stokes


HarperTeen • May 2016

About GIRL AGAINST THE UNIVERSE: Maguire is bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time the rollercoaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time the house next door caught on fire. Or that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. It’s safest for Maguire to hide out in her room, where she can cause less damage and avoid meeting new people who she could hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star. Jordy is confident, talented, and lucky, and he’s convinced he can help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away. But it turns out staying away is harder than she thought.

About the author: Paula Stokes (under the name Fiona Paul) is the author of the sexy, historical Dark Waters trilogy, starting with Venom, developed in collaboration with Paper Lantern Lit and sold in a major deal at auction to Philomel, published in fall 2012. She then wrote a contemporary romance, The Art of Lainey, followed by a dark mystery series called Liars, Inc. Those two books sold to HarperTeen, and since then she’s finished another series called Vicarious, which sold as a duology to Tor Teen. Her writing has been translated into nine different languages. http://www.authorpaulastokes.com/

Foreign sales history:

LIARS, INC: Brazil (DarkSide Books), Spanish (Planeta Mexico)

THE ART OF LAINEY: Germany (Ars Edition)

Praise for Paula Stokes’ previous work:


“Stokes continues to masterfully plant crumbs and red herrings on the road to the solving the mystery. The action is nonstop in this dark, psychological thriller. Readers will be on edge until the satisfying conclusion.” – VOYA

“An interesting mystery with plot twists and turns to keep teens reading.” – School Library Journal

“Max is so well-drawn it's hard not to be completely sympathetic to his predicament...the author twists and turns at all the right moments. Even the keenest mystery buffs will be hard-pressed to predict the book's finale, which packs quite the emotional and physical punch. Captivating to the very end.” – Kirkus Reviews

“This thriller has plenty of appeal for teens looking for a book that will keep them guessing...this is one exciting ride.” – ALA Booklist

“This story twists and turns and screeches around every corner, but still manages to be a thriller with a big heart.” – Kristen Lippert-Martin, author of Tabula Rasa

“My favorite part of the book was Parvati. She was sexy, mysterious, smart, strong, confident, and vulnerable. And best of all, she was unapologetic about all of those things.” – Philip Siegel, author of The Break-Up Artist

“This high school mystery provides a believable viewpoint from a not-so conventional character and heartwarming relationships. What else could you want from a YA thriller such as this?” – PopCrush

“Paula Stokes' latest literary endeavor is an expertly plotted, thoroughly engrossing, devilishly convoluted, clever and truly surprising YA thriller / mystery for the more mature crowd (older teens and adults). This book falls somewhere between Gretchen McNeil's thrillers and Gillian Flynn's mind-benders...It's a slow-building, meticulously woven web of lies and deception with a completely jaw-dropping final reveal that you kind of see coming, but it still knocks you out good, because there's just no way you could have ever expected it.” – Evie, blogger at Bookish

“Oh man this book was awesome! Super addicting; full of conspiracies, murders, cover ups, and lies; and things just kept building and building. It was REALLY hard to put this book down. I JUST HAD TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED!!!” – Nosegraze

“When looking through everything, this totally can seem like such a sad story, and it is. Max broke my heart—no, he shattered it with his words and thoughts. Stokes has yet created another powerful protagonist whose story you must read from start to finish in one sitting, because it's freakishly explosive and gorgeous...” – A Thousand Lives Lived

“If you like thrillers and a good mystery, Liars, Inc is the perfect book for you. Even though I had so many theories, some crazy some not so crazy, I didn’t figure out the whole mystery until pretty much it was revealed to us. If you haven’t read Liars, Inc. yet, here’s a tip: doubt everything and trust no one!” – Mostly YA Book Obsessed

“I do definitely recommend it! It’s one that will keep you on the toes and guessing until the very end!” – Candace’s Book Blog

“It makes one wonder if we can ever really know the people around us, like our neighbors, friends, and colleagues….Overall, Liars, Inc. is a great novel. I can't wait for Paula Stokes' next book.” – Imaginary Reads

“If you are looking for a different YA book, this is for you. DARK and TWISTED. There are not a lot of YA thrillers that are as great as Liars, Inc.! Just WOW!” – Carmela and Kyla

“It isn't often you get an entertaining, interesting and believable YA thriller, but thankfully, Liars, Inc. delivers all that and more. This is an addictive page turner with suspense and a solid mystery. I flew through this one! If you are in need of a great thriller, pick up Liars, Inc.” – Rainy Day Ramblings

“There were so, so many twists and turns that kept my head spinning trying to figure out what’s happening here!... Liars, Inc. was a true page turner with some interesting characters and an exciting plot!” – Bewitched Bookworms

“It was intriguing, interesting and more than just a little creepy.” – Book Nerd Reviews


TeenVogue.com picked THE ART OF LAINEY as one of 15 most exciting YA books coming out in 2014! “Love. Drama. Subterfuge. This one has it all.”

“I love, love, loved The Art of Lainey! A must read for anyone who's ever been dumped—and wanted him back.” – Mandy Hubbard, author of You Wish and Fool Me Twice

“A coming of age story that hits all the right notes...The use of The Art of War was clever and added another layer to an already complex and wonderful book.” – Christina Ahn, reviewer at Ensconced in Lit

“Romantic, witty, and unexpectedly deep. For anyone who has ever had their heart broken, life-plan turned on its head, and future suddenly in question, this book is for you.” – Rachel Harris, author of A Tale of Two Centuries and Taste the Heat

“A summer romance between two people who couldn't be more different and who, therefore, have plenty that's new and exciting to offer each other. It's a familiar rom-com setup but a satisfying and sweet story, too.” – Publishers Weekly

“Stokes’ writing is as breezy as Lainey herself, and although readers will predict the ending relatively quickly, it won’t stop them from enjoying Lainey and Micah’s misadventures.” – Booklist

“[T]he romance is this book was so amazing. It was a banter-y, slow-burning romance that started out as fake dating for the two characters to win back their exes.” – Breath of Books

“The fact that it has great characters and an awesome slow building romance with so much chemistry, tension and swooniness, makes this one of my favorite contemporaries.” – Mostly YA Book Obsessed

“[A]lthough the romance is sweet, it’s the female characters that really shine here. The initially hard-to-like but well-meaning Lainey, her fun, caring and all-around awesome friend Bianca, Micah’s sweet younger sister and Lainey’s intelligent and concerned mom all play significant roles in the story, and the resulting depiction of female friendship, of mother-daughter relationships and of the importance of acceptance and support from those close to us is fantastic to read.” – Feminist Fiction

“Friendship, love, family, music, sports, and self-discovery is what you will find inside The Art of Lainey. The range of emotion matches the depth of this story, giving us an all-around excellent contemporary novel.” – Xpresso Reads

“The Art of Lainey is a quick, fun and relaxing read … Fans of Sarah Dessen and Kasie West will definitely devour this.” – Shiirleyy’s Bookshelf

“I loved Paula Stokes' writing and this is definitely my kind of adorable contemporary! I stayed up way past my bedtime to finish The Art of Lainey and I'd do it again in a heartbeat!” – Between the Pages

“[T]he way that Paula Stokes executes [the romance] is perfect and delicious.” – Good Books and Good Wine

“If you want a fun, lighthearted contemporary to start off your summer reading, I definitely recommend this one!” – Lose Time Reading

“The Art of Lainey is surprisingly more than ‘just another fluffy contemporary teen read.’ While it is cute and there is plenty of fun and humor (mostly thanks to Lainey’s gung-ho sarcastic attitude as well as her oftentimes hilarious ignorance) there are also some deeper themes to be read between the lines. Lainey’s life is not as perfect as she believes. She is forced to learn the meaning of being a true friend. There were also times throughout the book when I thought I knew where some of the ‘side stories’ were going, but then it would end up that I was completely wrong. I love books that keep me guessing!” – Jenna Does Books

“What I love about Micah and Lainey is that they were so atypical. They bantered entirely like themselves, and they went on very unique dates and were just SO ADORABLE. They both have little quirks and flaws that make them imperfect but also perfect for each other.” – Writer of Wrongs

“For much of the book, Lainey comes off as self-involved and immature, because she is. Her life revolves about what she wants and what she needs, about being popular and in control, about her future with Jason and her role as her school’s soccer superstar. Watching her grow was a real treat, as I found the entire process authentic, which can sometimes be hard to pull off.” – Shae has left the room

“The Art of Lainey was just the kind of book I love to read on those beautiful summer afternoon. The characters were just adorable, and the story was captivating and fun, full of growth, self-discovery, love, and just a dash of hope. Simply put, a perfect combination.” – Lost at Midnight Reviews