LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

OVERDRIVE
by Dawn Ius

OVERDRIVE by Dawn Ius

Simon Pulse in September 2016

About OVERDRIVE: Jules Parish has screwed up. After three years of boosting cars, she got caught. She's too good to get caught, but she let her (ex)-boyfriend talk her into a questionable job. And now, she and her little sister, Emma, will be kicked out of their foster home, left to survive on the unforgiving streets of Las Vegas alone…unless….

Eccentric, wealthy Roger Montgomery wants to open up his mansion to Jules and Emma. The only catch? Jules must steal seven of the rarest, most valuable muscle cars in the world…in seven weeks. Even worse, she’s forced to put her trust in three complete strangers to help her do it. First there’s Chelsea, the gorgeous redhead with a sharp tongue and love for picking locks. Then there’s Mat, who hasn’t met a system he couldn’t hack. And finally there’s the impossibly sexy car thief Nick, whose bad attitude and mysterious past drive Jules crazy. With nothing in common and everything to lose, can Jules and her amateur crew pull off what could be the biggest car heist in history? Or will things spin out of control faster than a Nevada dust devil?

About the author: Dawn Ius is a short story author, novelist, screenwriter, professional editor, and communications specialist. She is an active member of the International Thriller Writers Association and the author of nine educational graphic novels. Her debut young adult novel was Anne & Henry published by Simon Pulse in September 2015. When she's not slaying fictional monsters, she is geeking out over fairy tales, Jack Bauer, Halloween, sports cars, and all things that go bump in the night. Dawn lives in Alberta, Canada, with her husband, Jeff, and their giant English Mastiff, Roarke. www.dawnius.com

Why I love OVERDRIVE: This is a YA version of The Fast & the Furious movies, with all the cool cars, high speed driving, and danger of the films—plus some pulse-racing YA love. Jules is a bad-ass, but vulnerable female lead. When a rather mysterious, wealthy man named Roger Montgomery takes her and her little sister in as a foster parent, and then reveals his master plan (she and the other tech-savvy teens he’s taken in must steal seven highly collectible cars in seven weeks), she’s the most skeptical, and the most outraged. But eventually her sister’s welfare trumps her fear, and she agrees to take on the challenge. Jules, Nick, Mat, and Chelsea are at once ordinary teens (they like video games and pizza), and extraordinary teens (they can hot wire cars, hack into security, and pick complicated locks). Together they make up a dream team of car thievery. But as stealing each car becomes more dangerous than the last, and as Jules’ feelings for Nick intensify, the action and emotion ratchet up to Extreme! If you sat on the edge of your seat watching The Fast & the Furious, you’ll grip your Kindle with white knuckles reading OVERDRIVE. Whew. Try to take a breath, if you can.

Favorite line: “Nick zips through traffic and we lean left. Right. Our movements are synchronized like ballet dancers who’ve partnered their whole lives. My limbs turn lucid, the grip around his waist slack. The situation hovers between dangerous and deadly, but somehow I feel safe. Even as the dotted lines on the hot asphalt become one continuous streak of white.”

Foreign history:

Anne & Henry: Spanish Americas (V&R)

Praise for ANNE & HENRY:

“Students of history already know where this is headed, but Ius' creative interpretations of the facts are seductive, and she weaves an intriguing web around the doomed lovers. Her prose evokes both the intoxication of teen lust and the treacherous social landscape of adolescence….Clever and compelling storytelling from a promising writer.” – Kirkus

“The protagonists are well developed. Henry’s struggle to please his mother and satisfy his own desires is filled with tension that will ring true for many teens. Anne’s fruitless efforts to fit in are fraught with angst that will resonate with readers. This soap opera for teens features deception and intrigue aplenty….The over-the-top wealth and intrigue will appeal to fans of Cecily Von Ziegesar’s Gossip Girls and Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars.” – School Library Journal

“I really liked how the romance was adapted to a high school scenario. It definitely seemed very real to me, as though the events that transpired in the book could definitely happen in the high schools of today. I really loved this book and enjoyed it from beginning to end. I enjoyed the romance aspect of it, I did feel like they fell in love really fast but I think for this story it really works.” – Ms. Nose In a Book

“Centuries after the original Anne Boleyn and Henry Tudor conducted their famous affair, the story is still relevant and Ius creates a very believable scenario for the two of them in today’s world. Even if you believe you know how it all will end, Ius keeps you guessing about the details of how it will play out until the end.” – Mother Daughter Book Club

“Anne & Henry by Dawn Ius clearly created a very accurate contemporary retelling of the famous and beloved couple Anne and Henry. It captures the romance that turns to obsession quite realistically.” – Bewitched Book Worms

“An entertaining read and a very creative twist on Anne Boleyn and Henry Tudor!” – Hello Chelly

“Readers familiar with history know not to expect a happy ending but the suspense of seeing just how exactly Henry will make Anne lose her head in this modern rendition keeps readers happily tuned in for the grand finale.” – Don’t You Shush Me

“Their relationship, from the early tension to the height of their romance, is the primarily focus of this story, and it is intense. There are ups and downs, unexpected curveballs and close calls, and the entire saga is simply fascinating.” – Alexa Loves Books