LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

UNDER THE EGG by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

What's hiding under the egg?

Only two people know about the masterpiece hidden in the Tenpenny home and one of them is dead.

The other is Theodora Tenpenny.

She is responsible for tending the family's 200-year-old town house, caring for a flock of chickens, and supporting her fragile mother, all on her grandfather 's legacy of $463.

So, when Theo discovers a painting in the house that looks like a priceless masterpiece, she should be happy about it.

But Theo 's late grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and if the painting is as valuable as she thinks it is, then her grandfather wasn't who she thought he was.

With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all over Manhattan and introduces her to a side of the city, and her grandfather that she never knew.

To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time.

Dial/ Penguin - 256 pages

"If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one." - Kirkus, starred

"A riveting mystery for readers who loved Chasing Vermeer and From the Mixed-Up Files of Basil E. Frankweiler." - Booklist, starred

"It's really a very compelling read, and I don't know how she did it." - Kate DiCamillo