LEX Copyright Iroda / LEX Copyright Office

THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND
by Kasie West

THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND by Kasie West

HarperTeen

a stand-alone contemporary YA love story

About the book: When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley. The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

About the author: Kasie West’s debut novel, Pivot Point was published by HarperTeen in February 2013 and received a starred review in Publishers Weekly. The sequel, Split Second followed in February 2014. Kasie’s contemporary YA, The Distance Between US was published by HarperTeen in July 2013 to strong reviews and her next contemporary, On the Fence was published July 2014. As a stay-at-home mom of four children, Kasie hears lots of melodramatic versions of larger-than-life events. Aside from a strong desire to write stories her kids can relate to and enjoy, she is an avid reader and devours books almost as fast as she can eat a movie-sized box of Junior Mints. In the summer months you can find Kasie wakeboarding on the lake with her family, trying to survive the hundred degree temperatures of Central California. She graduated with a BA in liberal studies, with a strong focus on linguistics and psychology, from Fresno State University. http://www.kasiewest.com/

What’s next: Egmont has stolen Kasie West away from HarperCollins and acquired two new stand-alone contemporary YA titles. The first, The Sun, the Moon, and the Truth will be pubbed April 2016 (with the author delivering in April 2015).

Praise for Kasie West and her previous work

Kasie West won the Whitney Award for Best New Author!

ON THE FENCE

“Yes, it’s a romance, but the plot deepens when Charlie deals with the death of a mother she can’t remember. West creates a fun family dynamic and successfully builds the tension between Charlie and Braden throughout. A sweet, breezy story that is nonetheless meaningful.” – Booklist

On Huffington Post, YA blogger Lisa Parkin talks about “3 Ways to Figure Out What Young Adult Books to Read Next,” and says “…just ask what someone's last favorite read was. To get you started, my last favorites books were On the Fence by Kasie West, a contemporary YA romance.”

“After my fourth successful interaction with a Kasie West novel, I’m ready to say it officially: I’m a fan. The Distance Between Us was a surprisingly charming contemporary romance, Pivot Point and its sequel, Split Second, were suspenseful, vaguely mind-trippy sci-fi adventures, and now there’s On The Fence, which is the epitome of the perfect YA contemporary story….On The Fence executes so many YA themes so well, with West effortlessly weaving together varies plot threads to come up with a perfect little story of personal discovery.” – The Daily Quirk

“This was such a fun read….On its surface, On the Fence can sound very cookie-cutter: Tomboy falls for brothers' best friend and realizes she can wear girly clothes and makeup and still be herself. But the way Kasie writes the story is so much more fun and a lot less cookie-cutter. I loved watching Charlie's struggle with her mother's death (when she was 6) and what it means now. I adored her fence talks with Braden and loved watching her truly grow. I definitely recommend this because it's not overly angsty, there's no love triangle (well, not a real one) and it was just pure fun.” – USA Today, Happily Ever After “Must Read YAs”

“West builds enjoyable tension and absorbing chemistry between Charlie and Braden, and her depiction of growing up surrounded by brothers is thoroughly enjoyable.” – Publishers Weekly

“West crafts a beautiful story that will hook lovers of contemporary teen romance….This tale is eloquently written and goes deeper than most teen romances dare to go. For fans of Susane Colasanti and Stephanie Perkins.” – School Library Journal

“This is a fantastic summer read, with the perfect summer romance! On The Fence has all the right elements that made me swoon, laugh, cry and enjoy every moment I spent reading this book….I LOVED it! It's simplistic in its fast moving plot line, wonderful in the way the story is told, and complex with how the characters learn to come to terms with a relationship that was so perfect, wonderful, and romantic in a way that fit both characters. This is a story that I will definitely read again.” – Mundie Moms

“Ahhh my dark heart has been set a-flutter! Kasie West has a knack for doing that to me with her writing. I’ve loved every book of hers so far, and On the Fence topped them all! I was left grinning like a fool and wanting to immediately read it all over again….This may be a romance, but it doesn’t just focus on Charlie swooning over a guy. Not at all. There is a lot more going on with Charlie and her life, and I loved every moment of it.” – Christy’s Love of Books

“KASIE WEST DID IT AGAIN! She stole my heart with an amazing contemporary romance and gave me ALL THE FEELS!... I loved that this book wasn’t just about the romance. It was about self-discovery and about loving and accepting yourself. It was about dealing with grief, and taking responsibility for your actions, and about family. It was such an amazing book, and beautifully written. I want to own every single book Kasie has ever written.” – Boricuan Bookworms

“I'm a big fan of Kasie West, and this book did not disappoint! However, I think the [catalog copy] makes this book sound way more breezy and superficial than it actually is. Yes, part of the story includes a sweet romance, a "friends become more than friends" kind of thing, and Charlie's secret job. But at the core of On the Fence is a moving story about a girl who has been trying to come to terms with something really sad and difficult, and how she works through that to become a stronger person….Like another of my favorite YA contemporary writers, Sarah Dessen, Kasie West does a great job at portraying family dynamics in a realistic way.” – YA Romantics

“[A]bsolutely fantastic, wonderful, amazing and every other fabulous word you can think of. I wanted to hug this book when I was finished, it made me that happy. Charlie was such a fun character, I thought she was just brilliant and so easy to relate to….Kasie West is now one of my must-buy authors! 5 out of 5.” – Reviews from a Bookworm

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Kasie West was chosen as a “Best of July Title” in the Apple iBookstore!

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Kasie West is nominated for a Good Reads Choice Awards 2013 in the category of Best Young Adult novel, and it’s made the semi-finals round!

“[R]eaders will easily relate to Cayman as she sorts out her true identity: not a poor little poor girl, not her mother’s keeper, and most definitely not a rich guy’s toy. Recommend this familiar but satisfying love story to fans of realistic chick lit.” – Booklist

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Kasie West is a Junior Library Guild pick!

“An antidote to dystopian and post-apocalyptic fiction, this Cinderella story is sweet and hopeful.” – Kirkus

“The Distance Between Us shines! This book is rich with sparkling dialogue, clever wit and a sweet romance!” – Daisy Whitney, author of The Mockingbirds and When You Were Here

“The Distance Between Us is an engaging, sweet story with heart and snark….Kasie West writes some of the most charming guys in YA today—and I've officially declared her the Queen of the First Kiss Scenes.” – Heise Reads & Recommends